10
Jun
10

Things I Love


   The things I love, they've helped to pull me through:
   my Button, a photograph you'd wanted, and my guitar —
   Too bad for both of us, none of them's still you.

   What pain's not healed by the kiss of a kitten's mew?
   At least her friendship's touches'll carry far
   the things I love.  They've helped to pull me through.

   This rare snapshot of you kissing up you know who
   now off fighting things more likely to leave a scar
   too bad for both of us. None of them's still you.

   Soft chords with words, though I know only a few
   of ones you were known for singing at our local bar
   the things I love.  They've helped to pull me through.

   I pet, I pray, I play. What's more to do?
   The things left on my wishlist, they're subpar,
   too bad for both of us. None of them's still you.

   I'd share the love, knew I where to send me to.
   At least write say how long away you are?
   The things I love, they've helped to pull me through —
   Too bad for both of us, none of them's still you.

5 Responses to “Things I Love”


  1. 2010.06.10 at 3:14 pm

    Hi Sara — What a sad poem, but it seems resigned…maybe it’s the repetition of those two lines throughout that does that. “At least write say how long away you are” is divine, the way you played with those words. Is Button the cat?

    • 2 sarachnid
      2010.06.10 at 5:33 pm

      Button’s a kitten my friend’d gotten for me, just before she vanished. Button’s other claim to fame is that she keeps proving to me that I’ve still not yet managed to memorize Amy’s poem on ways to train a cat.

      My friend used to love the villanelle form with its obsessive repetitions: I have over a hundred she wrote. I’m still new at them, of course, but I thought it would make for an interesting challenge to attempt to cross the triad of this week’s “3-things” prompt through the weave of the form’s repetons and hopefully still come out without sounding too very much like a clodhopper about it. 🙂

      Thanks for the visit and the comment.

      • 2010.06.10 at 5:38 pm

        ha! I loved Amy’s poem re: cat. I intend to visit people’s blogs instead, as I seldom can get into Robert’s site. Unfortunately, a lot of folks don’t post their poems on their blogs. I’m glad you do.

        • 4 sarachnid
          2010.06.10 at 5:49 pm

          I’ve enjoyed visiting your blog the past month, and will start occasionally making my presence there a little more obvious, as long as I don’t get too obnoxious. 🙂

          I usually only come back here to post when I see some major revision that I decide to make, here for instance only realizing after re-reading my PA post another dozen times that I wanted my two internal “things I love” stanzas more like their two partners.

          As I’ve noted elsewhere (probably to the point of being obnoxious already), I’m really only at PA because it’s the last place (as far as I know) that my friend spent time reading and posting, even after she’d abandoned her own blog, so I’m hoping she had a reason for doing so, so that’s where I am. Near giving up hope, though. I doubt she’s even bothering anymore….

  2. 2010.06.10 at 6:53 pm

    I must agree the repetive line enhanced the underlying tone of the poem of “that’s the way it goes and it’s all over baby blue”…it was just a fine poem…thanks for sharing it.


Leave a Reply

formal attire

short of breath

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


