23
Oct
10

Background Vocal


   I woke to find a hole where I once was
   already filled. 
                    With what they made of me
   advancing what my other self withdraws,
   I woke to find a hole.  
                    Where I once was
   that open-ended's out of reach because
   when I'd dreamed all they'd taken me to see,
   I woke.  
                    To find a hole where I once was
   already filled with what they made of me
   is nothing short of my most empty dream
   I woke to find. 
                    A hole where I once was
   is all I'm left. 
                    Beyond its far extreme
   is nothing.  
                    Short of my most empty dream,
   I've touched no life outside this shallow scheme:
   if any void breeds silence, this one does.

   Is nothing short of my most empty dream?

   I woke to find a hole where I once was.

1 Response to “Background Vocal”


  1. 2010.10.24 at 12:16 am

    I the repetition of your main line…it adds so to the feeling of the poem.


Leave a Reply

formal attire

short of breath

  • @magewing always and unfailing love thank you ○ 4 years ago
  • Cyn & Denise perfect love ferocious & open thank you ○ 4 years ago
  • @poetalias thank you ○ 4 years ago
  • all of it in good hands, as will be my child - thank you ○ 4 years ago
  • all of it now handed over so I can conserve remaining strength for my final creation ○ 4 years ago
  • how is it i remember what the word 'intrinsic' means, yet i can't figure out which beliefs are intrinsic to me vs having been read to me? ○ 5 years ago

