12
Nov
10

Blessed Amnesia


            "Blessed are you when people insult you, 
            persecute you and falsely say all kinds 
            of evil against you because of me."
                            — Matthew 5:11
    
    
    Because of me your word's been made a joke
    with you its punchline. Close friends broke
    promises you'd trusted in. Rumors ran loose
    against you. Your christian name saw misuse
    in casual vulgarities your own lover spoke.

    I'm pierced myself each time they take a poke
    at you because of me. I'm cut by every stroke
    you take because of me.  I hurt at your abuse
                            because of me.

    Forget their words as if they were but smoke
    my word shall breathe away before you choke.
    Remember too, their taunts give no excuse
    for vengeance. Be the one to call the truce.
    My own forgiveness, peace and love invoke
                            because of me.

1 Response to “Blessed Amnesia”


  1. 2010.11.13 at 1:04 am

    Another fine poem…I wonder if any really ever forgets that they forgave as has been said before.


Leave a Reply

formal attire

short of breath

  • @magewing always and unfailing love thank you ○ 4 years ago
  • Cyn & Denise perfect love ferocious & open thank you ○ 4 years ago
  • @poetalias thank you ○ 4 years ago
  • all of it in good hands, as will be my child - thank you ○ 4 years ago
  • all of it now handed over so I can conserve remaining strength for my final creation ○ 4 years ago
  • how is it i remember what the word 'intrinsic' means, yet i can't figure out which beliefs are intrinsic to me vs having been read to me? ○ 5 years ago

