04
Sep
12

Time Out


      Give me a minute to get it back under control
      sufficiently to be myself again.
      I don't need this, not while I'm on parole.
      
      At least I'm out here. I shouldn't complain,
      except they make it hard to take a breath
      sufficiently to be myself again.
      
      I'm not afraid of them. I'd take on death
      or more to break through, never looking back,
      except they make it hard to take a breath.
      
      What angers me the most now's this attack
      against what I believe. It has to end
      or more: to break through, never looking back.
      
      You've seen it. You've been there. You comprehend
      how difficult it is for me to go
      against what I believe. It has to end.
      
      How must it be be expressed to make it so?
      I don't need this, not while I'm on parole.
      How difficult it is for me to go!
      Give me a minute to get it back under control.
      
5 Responses to “Time Out”


  1. 2012.09.04 at 7:55 pm

    How difficult it is to regain you composure once anger enters the formula…I quite enjoyed thinking about this poem of yours.

    • 2 sarachnid
      2012.09.04 at 8:05 pm

      Yeah, what precipitated this one, I about walked out on, I was so angry. I’ll be leaving them soon enough, yeah, just that I’d rather do it my way, not guided by anger.

      • 3 sarachnid
        2012.10.19 at 12:27 pm

        One must never be angry about how little they say is left. What makes it good is how much we know we have.

  2. 2012.09.05 at 7:46 am

    I’ve always found this form very tough, but you, my poetic friend, have mastered it. A wonderful poem; a poignant poem. Well done.

    • 5 sarachnid
      2012.09.05 at 12:17 pm

      Thank you. I’m trying. My memory acts so capricious. Words hang on like pesky gnats, but my forms have been like my old friends, whom I know only from the words I’ve heard. So I read and listen and I study over and over. This one felt like this form to me. I tried it in a pantoum first but it wanted to move more like a waltz than a march. Or of course I could have done it in a sestina. I think I could do any of them in a sestina. I will be happy if each of them find the form that they feel most comfortable in, what they belong in.


Leave a Reply

formal attire

short of breath

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.